About the Foundation

The Gary Educational Development Foundation, Inc. has been awarding scholarships to deserving Gary Community School Corporation students since 1975. Thanks to the vision and dedicated support of Fred Ford, Gordon McAndrew, YJean Chambers, Joe Torres, Montague Oliver, Haron J. and Ruth Battle, Richard Bass, Fred Eichorn, Sandra Irons, Sam Bianco, Paul Stephens, Nellie Moore and Barbara Cope the Foundation continues to thrive.

We are grateful to our Board of Directors, Guidance Counselors and Scholarship Review Committee for their gracious volunteer service. We would not be where we are today without our faithful donors – private citizens, local businesses, educators, GCSC Staff, Alumni Clubs and Bequests. Notably, one community leader offered 4 new outstanding scholarships this year – Mr. Mamon Powers, President of Powers and Sons Construction Company, Inc.

Our total scholarship awards exceed $100,000 in new and renewing scholarship funds. Additionally, we granted nearly $10,000 to Gary Community School Corporation teachers and students for enrichment programs and activities.

Our Mission – Expanding educational opportunities for Gary students through scholarships, recognition and special activities.

This year GEDF has provided well over $100,000 in scholarship awards for several graduating seniors; enrichment grants for student participation in Reading, Speech, Spelling and Geography contests, a “Close-up” study of the U.S. government in Washington D.C., a summer swimming camp at Purdue University – W. Lafayette, Art Day at Indiana State University, an Anti-Smoking documentary and a trip to Africa to study art and culture.

Our Board

GEDF Board of Directors:

Rev. Timothy F. Brown

Dr. Myrtle V. Campbell

Mr. Scott Casbon

Mrs. Barbara Cope

Mrs. GlenEva Dunham

Mr. Frederick Ford

Mr. Jeff Hughes

Mr. Clifton Gooden

Mr. Raymond Grady

Mr. Edmund Gunn

Mrs. Yvette Irons-Johnson

Mrs. Nellie Moore

Mr. Mamon Powers, Jr.

Dr. Cheryl L. Pruitt

Mrs. Delphia Shelton

Mr. Foster Stephens

Dr. Marion Williams

Exec. Director:

Ms. Charius M. Haney

Lead Analyst; Student Accounts:

Mrs. Kira A. Tyler

Executive Assistant:

Mrs. Finnetta Billingsley

Only students who attend schools in the Gary Community School Corporation and faculty are eligible to apply for our scholarships and grants.
Sign Up for our Newsletters

Please leave this field empty.